Wednesday, May 20, 2009

I've Got A Lot To Say Part II

Kevin Barnes and Co. are not messing around. While on tour to promote their latest album, Skeletal Lamping, the indie art-rock group released new EPs and singles that are leaving me begging for more. As a devoted oM fan, I have been listening to these new tracks religiously. I definitely recommend the Gender Mutiny Tour - Single and the acoustic goodness of the Sony Connect Set - EP. More new music can be found on the Suffer For Fashion - EP, which includes a rollicking live performance of a new tune entitled "Tropical Ice-Land," and the single, "Jimmy." New songs have also been performed while the band has been on tour. Watch of Montreal perform the catchy tracks, "Coquet Coquet" and "Like a Tourist" at the Music Hall of Williamsburg below:



My favorite songstress, Regina Spektor has a new album entitled Far coming out. Set to drop on June 23rd, the album's two singles, "Laughing With" and "Blue Lips" are pretty and  intriguing. Spektor adorably discusses the production process and a few of the tracks here. Tracklist below:

1. The Calculation
2. Eet
3. Blue Lips
4. Folding Chair
5. Machine
6. Laughing With

7. Human of the Year
8. Two Birds
9. Dance Anthem of the 80s
10. Genius Next Door
11. Wallet
12. One More Time With Feeling
13. Man of a Thousand Faces

With a debut album that was pure pop perfection, but triggered insane amounts of hype and backlash, Vampire Weekend are going to have to pull out all the stops to create an equally, or maybe even more catchy sophomore album. Rumored to be released this fall, lead singer, Ezra Koenig says the album will have a recognizable Vampire Weekend sound. Also, some unique instruments will be incorporated and a few of the songs the band has been performing live, such as "White Sky," have secured their spot on the second album. All in all, this band dominated my Summer '08 playlist, altered my opinion on preppy nautical wear, and restored my faith in pop rock, so I have high hopes for Vampire Weekend and their sophomore effort.

I have been to two Vampire Weekend shows, one of them being the Central Park Summerstage performance where a torrential downpour made the experience even more enjoyable, and each time I saw him, I could tell that there was more to the silent head-bobbing keyboardist than meets the eye. Well, I was right, because Rostam Batmanglij, Vampire Weekend's keyboardist and producer, teamed up with Wes Miles of Ra Ra Riot to form Discovery. Since 2007, the pair have been creating fluorescent electro-pop and it was not until this year that they received copious amounts of recognition. Now their debut album entitled LP is being released on July 7th. Containing bright and spacey synth-obsessed tunes brought to life by Miles's soft croons, the album will also feature Dirty Projectors' Angel Deradoorian and Ezra Koenig. For now, listen to two of Discovery's songs here and check out the tracklist below:

1. Orange Shirt
2. Osaka Loop Line
3. Can You Discover?
4. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend (ft. Angel Deradoorian)
5. So Insane
6. Swing Tree
7. Carby (ft. Ezra Koenig)
8. I Want You Back
9. It's Not My Fault (It's My Fault)
10. Slang Tang


  1. seems like we're in sync. i was at that torrential downpour show and i just saw of montreal a month or so ago. amazing show.